Icon for content type Article

Maine State Housing Authority Emergency Rental Assistance Program FAQ

Maine State Housing Authority’s Emergency Rental Assistance (ERA) Program provided money to help renters pay for rent, electric bills, or other expenses to help avoid homelessness.  Right now, Maine State Housing Authority is not accepting applications for ERA as of September 30, 2022. This means you cannot apply for ERA with MSHA or any other… More
Icon for content type Article

Portland Maine Landlord Tenant Rules

Important Resources to Prevent Eviction Getting evicted? Worried you might be soon?

Farmworker Unit Harvest Calendars

Welcome to the home of our yearly Harvest Calendars! Each year, the PTLA Farmworker Unit publishes a calendar with information for migrant farmworkers about their legal rights, and where to get legal help.

PTLA Eviction Information Sessions

Eviction Information Session Every Tuesday at 9:00 am, Pine Tree hosts an information session about the eviction process in Maine. During the session, you can learn about:
Icon for content type Article

Farmworker Rights - General Protections

Read this page to learn about laws that protect farmworkers, information about where to get legal help, and information about workers’ compensation, minimum wage, and federal farmworker protections.

Annual Reports

Each year, PTLA produces a report for our communities, stakeholders, and donors. These reports explore and highlight some of the impactful work PTLA does, as well as information about our funding, and our organization itself.

Financial Information

Transparency and accountability are important to us Pine Tree Legal Assistance is a well-established charity with a strong reputation, locally and nationally.
Icon for content type Article

Maine Zoom Mediation in Family Matters

Posted and up-to-date 8/2022
Icon for content type Article

Farmworker Rights - Minimum Wage

What is the minimum wage for farmworkers? The federal minimum wage is $7.25 per hour. You must be paid at least $7.25 per hour. Even if you are paid on a piece rate basis, your hourly wages each week must average at least $7.25 per hour or your state’s minimum wage for agricultural workers.