Introduction The Maine Homeowner Assistance Fund (“Maine HAF”) is a program meant to help homeowners who have experienced a financial hardship connected to COVID-19 and are at risk of losing their homes. This is a grant based program, homeowners will not have to pay this money back.
Introduction Many people use self-storage facilities for a variety of reasons. It is important to know your rights when you put your property in a self-storage unit. There is a specific Maine law that covers self-storage facilities.
Introduction Owning a car is necessary for many people in Maine. Especially in rural communities, having a car may be the only way you can get to work, buy groceries, and get to school or medical appointments.
Are you or do you know someone who is trapped or unable to leave a work situation? You may be victim of human labor trafficking. There are laws to protect workers in these situations. Know the signs, know your rights!
Have you lost income, had increased expenses, or had some other type of financial hardship during COVID-19? You might be eligible for help through Maine State Housing Authority's Emergency Rental Assistance Program. This program may help you pay for rent, electric bills, or other expenses that will help you avoid homelessness. We answer some… More
The CDC issued an order banning some evictions. This order has been struck down by the Supreme Court. Learn how you can protect your housing.
Read this page to learn about laws that protect farmworkers, information about where to get legal help, and information about COVID-19, workers’ compensation, minimum wage, and federal farmworker protections.
Starting in June, 2020, Maine courts will allow video or telephone mediation in your Family Matter cases through video or telephone. There are no in-person mediations in court because of COVID-19. What is Zoom? Zoom is a program that allows you to have virtual video meetings on your computer, phone, or tablet.
What is the minimum wage for farmworkers? The federal minimum wage is $7.25 per hour. You must be paid at least $7.25 per hour. Even if you are paid on a piece rate basis, your hourly wages each week must average at least $7.25 per hour or your state’s minimum wage for agricultural workers.