Are you or do you know someone who is trapped or unable to leave a work situation? You may be victim of human labor trafficking. There are laws to protect workers in these situations. Know the signs, know your rights!
Read this page to learn about laws that protect farmworkers, information about where to get legal help, and information about COVID-19, workers’ compensation, minimum wage, and federal farmworker protections.
What is the minimum wage for farmworkers? The federal minimum wage is $7.25 per hour. You must be paid at least $7.25 per hour. Even if you are paid on a piece rate basis, your hourly wages each week must average at least $7.25 per hour or your state’s minimum wage for agricultural workers.
The law requires employers to provide a safe and healthy working environment. It is against the law for employers to retaliate against you for raising concerns about safety and health conditions. This includes concerns about COVID-19.
Are you a farmworker in Maine in need of medical care or a medical consultation? Maine Mobile Health can deliver care for regular medical issues, as well as advise you on COVID-19-related illness.
Introduction The Combat-Injured Veterans Tax Fairness Act of 2016 is a law that may allow many combat-injured veterans to claim a refund or credit from the IRS. This article is a brief summary of who may be eligible, and how to find help and more information.
Sometimes landlords react to sexual assault, domestic violence and stalking by taking action against the victim. There are state and federal laws that can help if this happens to you.
Who is protected by the mobile home park laws? This section applies to you if you own your mobile home and rent a lot in a mobile home park. Also, these "Rights of Maine Renters" articles apply to you: