Are you or do you know someone who is trapped or unable to leave a work situation? You may be victim of human labor trafficking. There are laws to protect workers in these situations. Know the signs, know your rights!
Have you lost income, had increased expenses, or had some other type of financial hardship during COVID-19? You might be eligible for help through Maine State Housing Authority's Emergency Rental Assistance Program. This program may help you pay for rent, electric bills, or other expenses that will help you avoid homelessness. We answer some… More
The CDC issued an order banning some evictions. This order has been struck down by the Supreme Court. Learn how you can protect your housing.
Read this page to learn about laws that protect farmworkers, information about where to get legal help, and information about COVID-19, workers’ compensation, minimum wage, and federal farmworker protections.
What is the minimum wage for farmworkers? The federal minimum wage is $7.25 per hour. You must be paid at least $7.25 per hour. Even if you are paid on a piece rate basis, your hourly wages each week must average at least $7.25 per hour or your state’s minimum wage for agricultural workers.
The law requires employers to provide a safe and healthy working environment. It is against the law for employers to retaliate against you for raising concerns about safety and health conditions. This includes concerns about COVID-19.
Posted and up-to-date on 8/26/2020 - Cross posted on KidsLegal.org What do I need to know? There is still a lot of uncertainty around what school will look like in the Fall. What will happen at your child’s school will depend on where you live in Maine.
Posted and up-to-date on 4/22/2020 KIDS Legal wants you to know that during this difficult time, PTLA, including KIDS Legal remains open to new cases and committed to protecting the rights of children with disabilities.